Time to tidy!

What is it they say – tidy space, tidy mind? I don’t know, something like that!

Anyway, I’ve got some big changes coming up – this is my last week at my job(!!) and I’m going to be moving to London at the end of March to chase my dreams… so basically I’ve got 2-4 weeks to sort my shit out!

It’s been playing on my mind the last few weeks, but I’ve been too caught up with work to do much about it… which is why I was surprised to stumble across “The Ultimate Checklist for Decluttering Your Home” blog post by Sophie from ThePrivateLifeOfAGirl.com 

She blogs about her minimalist lifestyle. Now for those of you who know me well, will know that I am anything but minimalist!!! What can I say, I like my stuff 🙂

But with the move coming up, its time for a loooooong overdue clearout, and I’m definitely in need of some advice! Sophie recommends breaking it down into sections and taking it one at a time. Check out the link above to see her Ultimate Checklist where she lays out every section you can possibly dream of! I can’t wait to try it out and give my clearing out some (much needed!) focus.

She also has some great advice for going through the sections:

“The main question to bear in mind when deciding what to keep is: Does this serve a purpose? If something adds value to your life – whether it “sparks joy” or has a job in the home – keep it. If you’re struggling to make decisions, box up the items you’re undecided about and store them (out of sight) for 3-6 months. If you need them during this time, keep them. It’s more likely you’ll forget what is even in that box and you’ll feel free to get rid of the entire lot.”

I really like the idea of using questions like “Does this add joy to my life?” or “What purpose does this serve?” to *hopefully* whittle down to what I really need and use on a regular basis.

 

Do you have methods/tips for decluttering and clearing out? Let me know in the comments below!

And while I don’t think I could cut it as a minimalist, I’m willing to cut down…  wish me luck!!!

Smooresy xo

Leave a Reply

